Thoughts on why I am....

Mar. 24th, 2026 07:21 am
cz_unit: (Default)
[personal profile] cz_unit
One of the things I like to do in this journal is think about why I think and why I am. Existensial of course, but it's good for this.

Today's thought is about my tendency to castastrophise and where it came from. There is a funny comic about this, guy thinks about why he does what he does and the gist is this:

I tend to think in terms of stuff being 100% good, or 100% bad. It's something you get when you were an abused kid: When things are good they are good, but when things go bad it is a catastrophe of biblical proportions. And you try to bring it back to "good" and "good" just is an absence of "bad" but when you compare the two at like 8 you see good as pure bliss and bad as pure hell.

Nothing in between. Thus you don't learn about taking stuff in context; how can you explain to an 8 year old that your dad is an abusive drunk and you should take the beatings in the context of "this is wrong and not normal"? You just want it to stop and you pull every little lever you have to make it so.

Except you're 8 and those levers really don't do a whole lot. But they do teach you to avoid conflict and conflict=death.

And that's a problem for adult me that I have struggled with for a long time: If I see conflict I immediately throw everything at it to try and bring things back to "good". And when things are "good" I don't improve because well they are 100% good. So I get into this frame which is like the bank robber in the movie "Oh Brother where art thou".

In that movie George is a bank robber and is either happy as hell or massively depressed. He doesn't have a middle, just polar end states. And at the end of the movie when he is being taken away by the police and is happy as hell about it one of the characters observes:

"Oh good, Ole George is back on top!"

Yeah, I tend to be like that.

But I digress. Or maybe I don't. Hm. Point is I don't get to experience incrementalism (gradations of problems) or contextualization (looking at the other items that are happening around the problem) and instead I throw everything I have at FIXING the problem and making it go away.

What I don't have is predictive catastrophization. In other words I don't meet someone, see some tiny flaw that might become a point of conflict in the future, then decide to bail on them without trying because eventually it would come up, it would be a point of conflict, and since conflict=death the relationship or situation would blow up anyway and why should I even try?

Or.... Maybe I do. Sometimes opportunities come up and I analyze them, see the potential for problems, and just toss the thing out with the dishwater because "I have enough problems already". It might result in conflict so why bother?

There is a thing I say to myself: "When I was a kid, I had kid tools to deal with problems, but as an adult I have adult tools to deal with problems".

And adult tools are far more powerful and far more useful/dangerous to use.

I joke to myself when I say "This is a problem can be solved by MONEY!" but it's true: When we got to the hotel in Norway and they didn't have our reservation that night it could have been a disaster and I was just starting to fire up the fight or flight response when that little voice in my head said "Wait, we can solve this with MONEY!" and I just paid for another night. Simple, $200 bucks, would have spent it anyway, not a disaster.

Just throw a small amount of money at the problem instead of going completely insane about it. That's an adult way to deal. Get people together and embrace differences of opinion and come to a consensus instead of throwing everything you have to "fixing" the problem yourself. Have some trust in other people, you're not living in a den of vipers.

Except..... This sort of mental state is probably not unique to me. I'd bet that a lot of people who were pounded as kids by parents who forced right and wrong into their brains have this trigger. And someone like Trump is just the person who knows how to use it.

From the "Daddy's back" bullshit to the stern image of a father about to beat you with a belt (he's an 80+ year old shit) to his attempts at "awesome retribution" towards anyone who tries to resist in any way this trips that "conflict=catastrophe" bit and leads to people either doing anything he wants or going nuts preparing for the "consequences". I'm sure it works on people who see the world as 100% good and 100% bad. Set up a fake conflict and watch people cave or try to bring it back to 100% "good".

There is no 100% good. And 100% bad is possible, but not too likely. Context does matter and yes the world is quite fucked up at the moment. But that's context, you can't magically pull it back to 100% good alone that will take time and dealing with stuff with adult tools. And the 100% "bliss" from complete submission is like the 100% bliss as a kid, a false place of security which you can't control and can go awesomely bad as you're basing good and bad on a drunk dad who is quite honestly random.

Sigh, lot of thoughts this morning. Dreamed I was at college taking notes for an engineering class on "engine efficiency" and the professor was writing tons of formulae on the blackboard and I was trying to write them down but I had a sharpie instead of a pen and the letters just bleed and blur on the paper so I could not read the subscripts. Complete mess.

Ok, it's now 7:15 and I have to get to work. There is a small catastrophe going on and I woke up at 6am so I could go in personally and save things. Except Alex is sick, the dog needs to be walked, and I can't take care of her and the disaster. So I'm not going to go in and instead will fix it remotely and walk the dog/be there for Alex.

It's not going to result in my job going away and even if that happened I have enough $$$ to last for a couple of years.

So it will be ok. No need to freak out and assume it's 100% or 0%. There are gradations, that is life.

More later.

And more travel: Norway/Sweden

Mar. 15th, 2026 08:47 am
cz_unit: (Default)
[personal profile] cz_unit
So I should write about this while I remember everything. As always I do key elements so I can remember whole sections....

Bec and I went on a trip to Norway and Sweden. And this.... was a seriously long one. About 14 days total and it was an incredible amount of fun. Definitely one of the longer trips I have taken and something I have wanted to do for about as long as I can remember...

So... We started by flying into Oslo, got to the hotel, reservation was for the second day not the first. I started to flip out, then realized I had a tool to fix this problem: MONEY! So I asked them for a room for the first night and everything just worked out for like $150 total. No worries, no problem, took care of it in 5 minutes as opposed to going bananas.

We crashed out, then did a bit of exploring that day and the next. Went to an amazing Ballet performance at the Oslo opera house the second evening, then on the third started the real trip with a flight out to Trondheim to meet our Vacations By Rail group. The ballet was experimental, we had front row center seats, and I could just reach out and touch them. I like classical, but I also like the experimental aspect including the "what does it MEAN" sort of thing. Ballet changes, it evolves, and if you just see Giselle and Swan Lake you're missing the evolution and it becomes stuck in time.

Anyway, about 14 or so British people and 2 other Americans were in the group. Nice enough, we discussed how insane the US was and I reminded the Brits that they did similar dumb things with Brexit. It's an opportunity for the rest of the world to stop looking to the US and being smothered by us and start charting their own destiny. I have thoughts on that, but will keep this to the trip.

Then from Trondheim it was off to Bolo via train, an 8 hour trip went by in no time. Then on to the Lofoten islands with rain, some snow, oddly kind of warm, really pretty place. I LOVED the electric ferry to the islands, an hour cruise on total battery power. They use what amounts to a huge magne crarger to charge the boat, and it works. So silent, went on deck, pretty....

From there we went to Narvik, which had an amazing war museum. It was.... timely... and interesting to remember how a few nazi traitors allowed the Germans in and supported them. That's one of the points to remember, about 20-25% of the population fully supported the Nazis, helped them, let them in, and got to be puppet leaders for years. And they are still there. They are always there... People did protest, and many of them died, but it's a lot better to die for what you believe in than be a simp and have to live out the rest of your long life as one. More on that another time.

Then off to Kiruna where we did camping in cabins (totally upscale) and got to see the Northern lights. Remember looking out to the horizon, then having someone tap your shoulder and point you UP? Yeah, it was beautiful, across the sky, amazing. Got two nights of that....

We did dogsleding, puppy playing, saw a local village, tried the local cuisine, did some shopping in town, got to see the ice hotel (the original one is amazing, the replica is a beer cooler), guided tours of the countryside, the whole nine yards. Bec was a great travel partner as well, it could get lonely without someone with you and she was a lot of fun to try new stuff with me. We had a lot of fun!

Finally after 3 days there it was time to come "home". We flew back to Stockholm and since we had an extra night there we dumped our baggage at the airport and grabbed the local train to go see the Vasa....

Now I remember the story of the Vasa when I was a kid. They brought up a 400 year old warship from the harbor and were restoring it, a process that in 1973 would take till "the next century". Well here we are, so we zipped down to the museum and SAW it.

Yeah, it was every bit as cool and amazing as I thought it would be. Felt like that 5 year old kid again, thinking "yes, this is the future I thought about" as I toured the exhibits.

Then we had dinner at a ramen noodle place (tasty) then flew home the next day. No problem with the flights, no problem with customs, no problem getting home.

And... Now I am home. Thoughts and observations will be another time, but it was good to get out of this stupid country and go someplace else for a bit. Weird to see how other people are, what they do, reflect on who I am and why. This weekend was the Pi party, then clean up the house and yard and prepare everything for spring. Which is coming and will come.

Oh also the US had to go to war while I was gone with Iran. I am so sure that will work out well, already gas prices are hitting the ceiling and I am sure energy prices will blow through the roof as well. Glad we have the truck, the Volt, and working solar panels.....

Pi party, take II

Mar. 15th, 2026 08:44 am
cz_unit: (Default)
[personal profile] cz_unit
Went to Laurie's PI party last night, it was *fun*! Got to see people, say hi, talk about science stuff, and of course the host had a number of amazing pies to eat and enjoy. The family is veg, but they make such great stuff I was stuffed by the end of the evening.

Good to go out. Her last party was 6 years ago right as COVID rolled in. I think there were five of us total, everyone else cancelled and it was that night we went out to the grocery store to fill three shopping carts full of emergency food to augment the stuff we keep around. I still remember the checkout girl looking at us and saying "is something wrong?"

Um yes. Didn't leave the house for 3 months after that if I recall, glad we had the option and ability to do so.

So last night was fun!
mark: A photo of Mark kneeling on top of the Taal Volcano in the Philippines. It was a long hike. (Default)
[staff profile] mark posting in [site community profile] dw_maintenance

Happy Saturday!

I'm going to be doing a little maintenance today. It will likely cause a tiny interruption of service (specifically for www.dreamwidth.org) on the order of 2-3 minutes while some settings propagate. If you're on a journal page, that should still work throughout!

If it doesn't work, the rollback plan is pretty quick, I'm just toggling a setting on how traffic gets to the site. I'll update this post if something goes wrong, but don't anticipate any interruption to be longer than 10 minutes even in a rollback situation.

Profile

entirelysonja: (Default)
entirelysonja

August 2014

S M T W T F S
     12
3 4567 89
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags